Keelboat Racing News

< Return to Keelboat Racing

December 14, 2020

Chris Grant Memorial Race

Former Commodore of Hillarys Yacht Club, Chris Grant, was honoured on Sunday, four years after his passing, with the sailing of the Chris Grant Memorial Race.
Renowned for his sense of humour, fair play and having a go, Chris would have been pleased with the turn-out of twenty four yachts in conditions in which Pandora (his Viking) thrived: a fifteen knot westerly. To mark the occasion crews wore colourful Hawaiian shirts, a favourite of Chris after purchasing a set for his crew during a visit to Vanuatu years ago. His wife Sandy, still contributing in the start tower, and family were there to celebrate the memory of Chris and to present pennants.
In division one with Geoff Chambers at the helm of Gary and Julie Beeck’s La Premiere it was an emphatic win with Surfer Rosa (Roric Smith) second and fastest and Perle third.
Deckchairs Overboard (Neil and Wendy Harrison) was first on IRC.
Tony Waymouth on Sheer Magic although sixth over the line won in division two with first over the line (fastest) Covert Operation (Bart Brouwer and Graham Atkinson) second and Blue Chip (Keith and Deborah Fisk) third but first in the Viking Cup.
An impressive fleet of ten yachts in division three enjoyed plenty of wind without having to hoist a spinnaker. Ron Marian on First Impression was first and fastest with Stelfred (Laraine Brindle) second and Sensei (Brett and Lynda Bailey) third.

John Bird

< Return to Keelboat Racing News Listings