fbpx

Keelboat Courses

A keelboat is a small to mid-sized recreational sailing yacht.

Start Crewing & Helming

This course develops both your theory and practical skills to confidently crew on a yacht and take control on the helm. 

  • Prepare sails and rigging, correct use of halyards, sheets and deck hardware.
  • Skills and techniques; helm and trim sails; tack and gybe, heave-to; effect of heel and trim; anchoring.
  • Recover a man overboard under sail.
  • Correct operation of safety equipment.
  • Weather and the environment.

Upcoming Crewing & Helming Courses

Start Crewing and Helming - September

Sun 05 Sept 2021 - Sun 18 Sept 2021

  • Sunday 5th September, 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm
  • Saturday 11th September, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 18th September, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Sunday 19th September, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm

Price: $360.00
Members Price: $330.00

Book now

Start Crewing and Helming - October

Sat 10 Oct 2021 - Sun 30 Oct 2021

  • Sunday 10th October, 08:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 16th October, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 23rd October, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 30th October, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm

Price: $360.00
Members Price: $330.00

Book now

Start Crewing and Helming - November

Sat 13 Nov 2021 - Sat 27 Nov 2021

  • Saturday 13th November, 08:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Sunday 14th November, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 20th November, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 27th November, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm

Price: $360.00
Members Price: $330.00

Book now

Spinnakers Course

This course introduces you to the fun and challenge of using symmetrical spinnakers. You’ll learn how to rig, hoist, fly, gybe, drop and pack a symmetrical spinnaker. Attendees are expected to have completed the Start Helming Course or have previous sailing experience.

Upcoming Spinnakers Courses

Spinnaker Course - August 2021

Sat 07 Aug 2021 - Sat 28 Aug 2021 08:30 - 12:30

  • Saturday 7th August, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 14th August, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 21st August, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Saturday 28th August, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm

Price: $360.00
Members Price: $330.00

Book now

AN IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT REGISTRATIONS

To make a course booking, please use the ‘Book Now’ button to register. This will take you to our Australian Sailing (AS) course registration page. Australian Sailing is the national body for the sport of sailing and Hillarys Yacht Club is a registered Australian Sailing Discover Sailing Centre.
You will need to know the Australian Sailing (AS) number of the sailor participating in the course in order to register that person, or you can create a profile for a new sailor. This profile and number are a unique identifier and stores course information for future reference, accessible by yourself and your registered club. It is important that the AS number is created for the person doing the course with their own name and details as they will keep this number for the lifetime of their journey in the sport of sailing.